Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We’re eight days into the New Year, and if you’re still on track with your resolution to eat more vegetables than cupcakes…well then this is for you.

I make string beans the same way every time—garlic, lemon, parmesan. It’s wonderful. It really is. But in a desperate attempt to liven up my usual bean routine, I threw together this dish and decided it was worth sharing. I’m not a big fan of cherry tomatoes. Aside from the fact that they always seem to find their way off of my plate and onto the floor at the most inopportune moments, I’m not crazy about the taste. Until you cook them. And then mmmm mmm mmm. I swear they’re like a completely different vegetable (yeah, yeah..fruit..i know). Their sweet, tart taste compliments the earthiness of the chickpeas really well, and the crunch of the fresh string beans in icing on the cake (mmm..cake).

I made this dish originally as a side, but I enjoyed it so much that I made it the next night and ate it over brown rice as a meal. Hope you enjoy!

The Ingredients

½ lb string beans
1 can chickpeas
Half pint of cherry tomatoes
3 tsp olive oil
2-3 tbsp chicken stock
Juice of half a lemon
1/3 cup parmesan
Salt to taste

The Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in skillet. Add cut string beans, chickpeas, and tomatoes.
  2. Cook over medium high heat for 5-7 minutes to get a little toast on the chickpeas and blister the tomatoes.
  3. Reduce heat to medium. Add chicken stock and lemon juice to pan. Cover pan and steam for another 5 minutes or until string beans are tender but still crisp.
  4. Season with salt. Toss with parmesan cheese.
