Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Christmas came and went, and I could hardly keep up. A nasty cold kept me confined to my apartment for the three days before Christmas, and it surely impeded this year’s holiday elfing. Still, I had a wonderful holiday with my family, staying true to some age old traditions and making some new (albeit crazy) ones as well.

As 2012 comes to a close tonight, I can’t help but reflect on the past year. Although my first “test” posts actually happened in 2011, I think this blog was really born in 2012, when I finally committed to doing it and telling people about it. While the pace at which I’ve posted has fluctuated based on work schedules, travel, and health, I’ve really enjoyed sharing my recipes and ideas with you, and I thank those of you who have supported me. I made about 1,100 New Years resolutions last year. I’m not too proud to admit that 1,099 of them fell to the wayside. But one of them stuck. And that was to find a creative outlet that would balance my left-brain focused day job. This blog has been a fun endeavor for me, and I’m sure it will continue to be in 2013.

I hope you all have a safe and happy New Years Eve and that you have at least one resolution that brings you as much happiness as this little blog has brought me. If one of those resolutions is to eat healthier (and you know it is), this simple chicken dish is a quick and easy way to get you started. Cheers!

The Ingredients

Serves 4
1 lb very thin sliced chicken breast (8 pieces)
4 slices of Provolone Cheese
8 thin slices of roasted red peppers
24 thin spears of asparagus
1 tbsp Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to taste
Brown Rice (optional)
 

The Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Pound chicken breast until very thin (about ¼ inch). If the chicken is too thick, it will be difficult to roll them up. Season each side of the chicken with salt and pepper.
  2. Place half a slice of provolone cheese on top of each chicken breast. Top with a thin slice of red pepper.

  3. Place 2-4 asparagus spears (depending on thickness) about 1/3 of the way from the wider side of the chicken breast. Roll chicken around asparagus.

  4. Heat oil in a cast iron skillet on the stove. Place rolled chicken seam side down into the oil for 3-4 minutes on each side to get a nice brown color.

  5. Finish chicken in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until juices run clear.
  6. Serve hot over rice or pasta.
