Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know I said in my last post that I haven’t had time for baking. That wasn’t a lie, I swear. I made this cake for Thanksgiving. So apparently, not only have I not had time to bake, I also haven’t had time to blog! I know what you’re thinking…and yes, you got me. Pinterest releasing secret boards has interfered a bit. What can I say, it takes a lot of time to plan 7 secret weddings. But now that I’ve pinned every single image that I was too embarrassed to pin for the public, I’m back in full force. And with that, I give you this.

I know, I know. It’s not seasonal. “S’mores were so last summer.” But I’ve learned that not everyone loves pumpkin. [I know. I don’t understand it either.] And since my other Thanksgiving offering this year was about as Seasonal as a dessert can get (Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake in a Gingerbread crust), I was willing to give into the temptation of marshmallow, chocolate, and grahams as my second Thanksgiving dessert.

This recipe is slightly modified from the one I used in my S’mores cupcakes last year. The presentation is incredible and requires very little skill. Go on and give it a try!

The Ingredients

Cake
1-1/2 cup cinnamon graham crackers
1 cup sugar
¾ cup butter
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 cup milk
Ganache
1 cup chocolate chips (I use Hershey’s for an old school smores taste 😉
¼ half and half
Frosting and Decorations
6 egg whites
1 cup sugar
½ tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp vanilla
Graham crackers (broken into fours)
Mini Chocolate chips (optional)
 

The Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2 8 inch round cake pans.

  2. To begin the cake, pulverize those graham crackers with either a food processor or by placing them in a plastic bag and rolling a rolling pin over it. (I choose option two every single time)
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and mix to combine. Then add eggs one at a time, beating gently.
  4. In a large bowl, sift together flour and baking powder. Mix in graham cracker crumbs.
  5. Add flour/graham cracker mixture to wet ingredients ½ cup at a time, alternating with the milk. Begin and end with the dry ingredients. Pour batter into cake pans. Cakes will be shallow.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

  6. While cakes are baking, heat the half and half in the microwave or in a small sauce pan until hot. Do not let it boil. Place chocolate chips for the ganache in a medium bowl. Pour the hot half and half over top the chocolate chips and stir until smooth. As ganache cools it will thicken slightly but will stay soft and spreadable. Put ganache aside.

  7. To prepare the frosting, add the egg whites, sugar, and cream of tartar to a mixing bowl. Place bowl over a double boiler or over a pot of simmering water to heat the egg whites. You don’t want to cook the eggs whites. The egg whites should reach 160 degrees. This will only take a few minutes. Egg whites will start to get frothy.
  8. Remove egg whites from heat and beat with a whisk on high speed for 5-10 minutes until stiff peaks form. Stir in vanilla. Refrigerate until use. This type of frosting doesn’t last very long, so you can’t make it too far in advance.

  9. When cake is cool, top one of the cakes with chocolate ganache. Top with the other cake. Reserve a small portion of frosting.

  10. Top cake with remaining frosting and use a spoon to make peaks in the frosting.

  11. Torch frosting or put the entire cake under the broiler on low for 5-7 minutes until lightly browned. Top with mini chocolate chips. Using the reserved frosting as a glue, line perimeter of cake with graham crackers.  Serve cool to room temperature.  Enjoy 🙂

