Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Christmas is here! Christmas is here! Most years, I decorate for Christmas on November 1st. Yes, I’m one of those people. I do at least 4 rounds of Christmas baking, because the cookies get eaten or become stale before I can bring them to holiday parties. I buy gifts, return gifts, and buy new gifts because I’m so sad that my holiday shopping is done.

But this year…well this year is different. It was 60 degrees yesterday…in Philadelphia…in December. I’ve been working nonstop with little time for holiday fun. I’ve purchased every gift online and haven’t even opened the packages to ensure they’re the right gifts. And baking? I haven’t even had time for break and bake cookies. But I refuse to let a busy work schedule interfere any further. And so tonight (approximately 36 days late, in my book) Christmas season commences.

This easy centerpiece cost about $15 and took about 20 minutes to put together. I’ve always had a fondness for the rustic feel of mason jars, and it doesn’t hurt that they cost like $1. Take a few hours away from the stress and craze that December seems to impart and unwind with a glass of wine, the Glee Christmas CD (right?!), and a project. J

The Supplies

(1) qt size mason jar
(2) pt size mason jars
1 8-10 inch wreath
6 small Styrofoam balls
Glue or Mod Podge
1 bag of “snow” or any material that is shredded, white, and reflective—could also use kosher salt?
Pine cones, berries, or other wreath accessories
3 small candles
1 bag of glass pebbles or vase filler, clear and white
Hot glue

The Instructions

  1. Cover the Styrofoam balls with glue and roll in the “snow.” Let dry.

  2. Fill mason jars 1/3 of the way full with pebbles and place candle in center. Shake around gently to sink the candle into the pebbles.

  3. Hot glue the “snowballs” and other wreath accessories.
  4. Place mason jars in the middle of the wreath. The whole thing could be placed on a 12 inch holiday charger for easy moving, but I just arranged mine right on my coffee table.

