Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

If you’re tired of the same old sides on your Thanksgiving table, look no further.

Most people either love or hate tomatoes. I’ve always been a bit hazy on where I stand. If you put an heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad in front of me, you’d think I was eating gold. If you put a tomato on my hamburger, I’ll cast it aside like its road kill. It’s always been a bizarre love hate relationship for me and tomatoes. I’m still not sure where I draw the line. But I am sure that I LOVE these tomatoes.

I have been counting down the days to Thanksgiving for about a month now—not because I particularly love turkey, but because I need a day off of work in the worst way. If you’re like me and plan on relieving all of your anxiety this holiday season by camping out by the dessert table, you’re going to need to make sacrifices somewhere. Why not swap out that horrendously perverted green bean casserole for these healthy stuffed tomatoes. (I love green bean casserole. I really do. But how on earth can you make a vegetable dish that unhealthy? I’m a firm believer that anything with that much fat and calories should at least have some form of chocolate and cream cheese in it.)

This dish is super simple, cheap, and versatile. It takes about 5 minutes to get them in the oven, costs about $10 to make, and can be used in a variety of ways. I’ve made these tomatoes as a side for brunch, a main course over rice, and in cherry tomatoes for a bite size appetizer.

Enjoy!

The Ingredients

Yields 6 tomatoes

3 medium tomatoes
1 ½ cup ricotta cheese
1 tbsp plain Greek yogurt (Chobani is my preference)
2 tbsp pine nuts (optional)
1 tsp garlic salt
1 tbsp parsley
1 tbsp butter
1 cup seasoned breadcrumb
 

The Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Slice tomatoes in half and remove seeds and insides. You want to leave about ½ inch of tomato around the edges.

  3. Rub tomatoes with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Line tightly together in a baking dish to keep them from tipping.
  4. In a bowl, combine ricotta cheese, greek yogurt, pine nuts, garlic salt, and parsley.

  5. Fill tomato halves with the ricotta mixture.

  6. Melt butter in bowl and toss with the bread crumbs. Breadcrumbs should resemble damp sand after mixed with butter. Top tomatoes with bread crumbs

  7. Bake tomatoes for 20 minutes. If desired, put tomatoes under broiler for 5 minutes to brown tops.
