Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I love Mexican food more than the average person. It borders on unacceptable really. I travel a lot for work, and in every city I find myself in, I manage to find a Mexican restaurant that I love. And then, often to the displeasure of my fellow travelling coworkers, I insist we eat there multiple times per week.

When I get home from travelling and eating every meal out, nothing is better than a home cooked meal. So after a long week of working in New Hampshire last week, I returned home with a need for something comforting, healthy, and most of all simple.  This Mexican/Italian combo cuts back on the amount of cheese used in a typical calzone and packs in lots of taste and healthful goodness from the whole wheat crust, black beans, fresh salsa, and corn.  I turn to my staple shortcut in this quick meal: rotisserie chicken. This dish is so quick and simple. Hope you enjoy!

The Ingredients

Yields Six 5 inch Calzones

1 cup shredded rotisserie chicken
½ cup black beans
½ cup corn
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
½ cup fresh pico de gallo or salsa
Chopped fresh parsley, optional
¼ cup tomato sauce
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp cumin
½ tsp cayenne pepper
12oz of Whole Wheat Pizza Dough
1 avocado
3 tbsp sour cream
Salt to taste
 

The Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the first 6 ingredients, through parsley.

  3. In a small bowl or a measuring cup, combine the tomato sauce, paprika, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Add salt to taste. Pour into chicken mixture and stir.

  4. Divide the pizza dough into 6 equal portions.

  5. On a lightly floured surface, roll each portion of dough into a circle, approximately 5 inches in diameter and ½ inch thick.

  6. Place about 1/3 cup of the chicken mixture onto the dough and fold in half. Be sure to pinch the edges together tightly. I use a fork to crimp the edges.

  7. Place calzones on a lightly greased baking sheet or a baking sheet dusted with cornmeal. Bake calzones for 20-25 minutes or until the tops brown slightly and the pizza dough is cooked through.
  8. While the calzones are baking, smash the avocado and mix with the sour cream. You can do this in a blender to get it perfectly smooth. I mashed the avocado by hand then stirred in the sour cream. Serve with the calzones or drizzle on top.
