Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Some people might classify me as type A. And in true type A style, many of the dishes I make for this blog have been planned out in advance. I brainstorm ideas. I’ll prepare a shopping list. I plan a night in my calendar for the preparation. I have a budget. I know how I’d like to photograph the dish. I know what I want to call it. I’m a compulsive planner at best, a control freak at worst. But I’m looking to change…really, I am.

Tonight was an experiment. Control freak gone wild, if you will. I went to the grocery store..without a plan. I’m not sure that it was swimmingly successful. I walked around for 20 minutes aimlessly and left having only picked up a bag of mini bell peppers […because how cute are they?] When I got home, I decided I’d take what was in the fridge and make a meal out of it—and then, I’d blog about it. It wasn’t a milestone, but it was a step.

So with no proper planning, I present you with an easy but fancy pasta dish: Roasted Vegetables and Angel Hair in a Parsley Cream Sauce. Quick and easy, but super delish. Enjoy! J

The Ingredients

Serves 2, but can be doubled or tripled

10-12 cherry tomatoes
1/2 cup sliced bell peppers
1/2 of a medium onion in thick slices
1 can 6-8 artichoke hearts
1/4 pound pasta
3 tbsp creme fraiche
2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley (can substitute dried parsley, but you’ll want to use less—3 tbs)
1/4 tsp garlic salt, not pictured
4 tbsp ricotta cheese
2 tbsp pine nuts
Olive oil
Kosher Salt

The Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Toss tomatoes, peppers, onion, and artichokes in olive oil. Spread on baking sheet and top with kosher salt and a sprinkle of parsley. Cook for 15-20 minutes.

  2. While the vegetables are baking, bring water to a boil in pot. Salt the water generously and cook the angel hair pasta until al dente.
  3. Reserve ¼ cup of pasta water and drain the rest. Add the ¼ cup of pasta water, 3 tbsp of crème fraiche, and ¼ tsp of garlic salt to the pot and mix to coat the pasta. Add 1 tbsp of the fresh chopped parsley and toss. Sauce may look thin but will thicken as it begins to cool.

  4. Add roasted vegetables and toss together.

  5. To serve, top with ricotta cheese, pine nuts, and remaining parsley. Serve hot.

