Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m a vegetable lover. Seriously, I’m yet to find a veggie that I don’t like. I like peas. I eat beets. I even swoon over Brussels sprouts. So for someone like me, farmer’s markets are like mecca. Walking through the Collingswood Farmers Market this weekend, I couldn’t help but float from table to table buying every vegetable in sight. I swear I was a farmer in a past life.

I had some pie crust leftover from my Mini Peach Pies, so I decided that do these beautiful little veggies justice by making a roasted vegetable tart. You can use any vegetables you want for a tart like this. I used zucchini, red bell peppers, onions, and yellow tomatoes and then topped it with some fresh parmesan and a balsamic reduction.

I had a conversation a few weeks ago with a colleague, making fun of people who say “balsamic reduction.” He asked me “What is a Balsamic Reduction? Isn’t it just cooking the balsamic vinegar? Is that all reducing something is…putting it on the stove and cooking it? Hell, I reduce stuff all the time. Every time I make scrambled eggs I don’t stick my nose in the air and say, ‘Hey, look at this reduction I just made’.”

So I cringed a bit when I typed “balsamic reduction,” but hey, it is what it is. 😉

You can use store bought pie crust or use my homemade pie crust recipe here.

The Ingredients

Yields 1 8-inch tart, Serves 4
 
1 medium red bell pepper, in ¼ inch strips
1 medium onion, in ¼ inch slices
1 medium zucchini, in ¼ inch slices
3 small yellow tomatoes, seeded
1 pie crust, thawed
1/3 cup shredded parmesan cheese
1 tbsp olive oil
½ cup Balsamic Vinegar
2 tsp honey
1 egg
Salt and Pepper to taste
 

The Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Wash and chop vegetables and lay flat on a baking sheet. Drizzle vegetables with olive oil, salt, and pepper and toss to coat.

  3. Roast vegetables for 30 minutes, stirring after every 10 minutes.

  4. While vegetables are roasting, roll pie crust into an 8 or 9 inch circle between two sheets of wax paper. Place pie crust on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.


  5. Place vegetable mixture in middle of pie crust, leaving about 1-2 inches of pie crust around the edge.

  6. Fold edges of pie crust over vegetables for a rustic look. Whisk egg in small bowl and paint egg mixture onto the crust. The egg mixture will help the crust brown.

  7. Bake for 25 minutes or until the pie crust is golden brown.
  8. While tart is baking, put balsamic vinegar and honey in a small saucepan to bring to a low boil. Reduce heat and let the mixture simmer until the liquid has reduced in half (to about ¼ cup). This may take up to 20 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside. The reduction should be thicker than balsamic vinegar, but should be able to be drizzled easily.
  9. After removing tart from over, sprinkle lightly with kosher salt, drizzle with balsamic vinegar, and then top with fresh parmesan.
