Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve got to admit, I’m a bit of a hypocrite. Typically, I begin getting into Fall mode about 3 weeks before it is socially acceptable. I’ve already burned through ¾ of a large Autumn Harvest Yankee Candle. I’ve had 4 Pumpkin coffees from Dunkin Donuts—2 of which needed to be iced, because let’s be honest, it’s not quite Fall. And I’ve already eyed up this year’s brown boot selection.

I get after Fall with full force weeks before appropriate. And then every year, something happens. As soon as everyone else starts to think about Fall, I get a panicked wave pass through me, telling me to hold fast to these last few fleeting moments of summer.

Because all of my baking and cooking is about to turn quickly to pumpkin, butternut squash, and comfort foods—I give you one last bite of summer: Mini Peach Pies. These scrumptious little darlings have a sugary, buttery, flaky pie crust casing, filled with a cinnamon and fresh peach filling. Simple but delish.

If you want to go ahead and use store bought pie crust to save time, I’ll let you do that and I’ll reserve my judgment. But if you think you’re going to get away without me pleading my case for homemade pie crust, you’re in the wrong place. 😉

Exhibit 1: Price – Pie crust is some expensive stuff. Two Pillsbury pie crusts will run you about $5 in my neck of the woods. Homemade pie crust only has flour, butter, salt, and water in it. You could make enough pie crust to line a football field for $5 (slight exaggeration).

Exhibit 2: Taste – Store bought pie crusts aren’t awful. And I assure you, there will come a post where I lose track of my priorities and use store bought pie crust to save time. But oh my god—homemade pie crust…yum yum yum.

Exhibit 3: Time and Materials – Making homemade pie crust literally takes 10 minutes of hands on time. 7 minutes if you have a pastry cutter. 5 minutes if you have a food processor. Despite being queen of cooking gadgets, I don’t actually have a large food processor or a pastry cutter. I made my pie crust with a fork and some elbow grease. Still only took 10 minutes. Plus, I counted those 10 minutes toward my cardio time for the day (for a daily total of 10 minutes). It then takes 30 min in the refrigerator to firm up, but hey, you need to make a filling anyway, right?

So the choice is yours. I trust you’ll do the right thing. J

Happy baking!

The Ingredients

Pie Crust (yields two 9 inch pie crusts, 8 mini pies)
2.5 cups of flour
1 tsp salt
1 cup of butter (2 sticks), cold
1/3 cup of ice water
1 egg
 
Peach Filling (yields enough filling for 8 mini pies)
2 large fresh peaches, sliced thin
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 cup sugar
 

The Directions

Pie Crust

  1. Mix flour and salt in a mixing bowl.
  2. Cut the cold butter into the flour and salt mix using a fork or a pastry cutter. This step is very important, and you don’t want to just throw this in a mixer. You want the butter to stay cold and create a crumbly mixture, similar to the picture below. The cold pockets of butter will make the crust extra flaky and light. If you have a food processor you can do this in the food processor, but pulse a very little bit.


  3. Pour the ice water on top of the crumbles and stir into the mixture. Begin lumping the mixture together by hand to form a ball of dough. You may need to add more ice water, 1 tbsp at a time until the dough comes together. Don’t overwork the dough, as you want it to stay cold with the pockets of butter in it.

  4. Divide the dough in half and form into two balls of dough. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for a half hour.

Mini Pies

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degree.
  2. In a small mixing bowl, mix together cinnamon, sugar, and cornstarch.
  3. Slice the peaches into 1/8 inch slices. Add peaches to the sugar mixture and toss to coat. Set aside.

  4. Remove one of the balls of dough from the refrigerator. Divide dough into 4 equal portions. Keep out on portion at a time and put the other pieces in the refrigerator until you need them. Place the ball of dough between two sheets of lightly floured wax paper, and using a rolling pin, roll the dough into an approximately 4 inch circle, ¼ inch thick.

  5. Place a few slices of peach on the middle of the circle. Whisk the egg in a small bowl. Brush the egg lightly onto the rim of the pie crust, outside the peach filling.

  6. Fold the crust in half to create a half moon shape. Pinch the edges and press with a fork to seal.


  7. Place mini pie on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Paint egg mixture on top of the pie and sprinkle with sugar. Cut a few small slits in the top of the pie to allow steam to escape and the crust to stay flaky.
  8. Continue with the remaining pie dough.
  9. Bake for 20-25 minutes in oven, until the tops of the pies are browned.

Tips

Can be served hot or at room temperature.

Store individual pies wrapped in plastic wrap.

If bringing to a BBQ, bring them at room temperature. Gently throw them on the grill for a few minutes. Top with ice cream. J

Try replacing peaches with apples!

Enjoy! J

