Pin It on Pinterest

I have a confession to make.  I don’t really love Oreos.  It’s blasphemous, I know…un-American, really.  They’ve always just been kind of “meh” to me.  They’re just so darn dry.  I know, I know.  “You’re supposed to eat them with milk!” I get it.  But I think that’s a crutch.  I like a cookie that can stand on its own.  So when I came across a recipe for Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies on one of my favorite blogs (Picky Palate), I thought “Now there’s a woman who understands!”  Pair an Oreo with a Chocolate Chip cookie, and now we’re talking!

For my first go at this, I followed her recipe exactly (link below), filling them with whole Oreos.  And they really were wonderful!  It’s rare that I come across a recipe that I don’t want to tweak at all, but I’ve got to tell you, the chocolate chip cookie recipe she uses is really a homerun for me.

However, after eating one of these mammoth cookies, I became concerned that I was heading on a downward baking spiral toward deep-fried-twinkiedom.  There had to be a way to make these less gluttonous, right?  And then it hit me.  Mini Oreos.  Yeah, I know.  It’s still an Oreo inside a Chocolate Chip Cookie.  And it still has the nutritional value of gasoline.  But using Minis let me make them in a more modest portion without sacrificing the deliciousness.


And now instead of eating one massive cookie and feeling bad about it, I can eat four modest sized cookies and feel like it’s perfectly normal! It’s a mind game, see?  I adjusted the recipe ever so slightly, and was very happy with the result!  These are actually pretty simple to make.  Here’s a quick walk through.  The recipe is at the bottom.

MINI OREO STUFFED CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES – yields 3 dozen

*Adapted from Picky Palate’s recipe: http://picky-palate.com/2011/06/13/collection-of-picky-palate-stuffed-cookies/ *
 
2 sticks softened butter
3/4 Cup packed light brown sugar
1 Cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 1/2 Cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup mini chocolate chips
1 bag mini Oreo Cookies

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a stand or electric mixer cream butter and sugars until well combined. Add in eggs and vanilla until well combined.

2.  In a separate bowl mix the flour, salt and baking soda. Slowly add to wet ingredients along with chocolate chips until just combined.

3.  Using a cookie scoop or large spoon take one scoop of cookie dough place it in your hard. Take a mini Oreo cookie and push in into the center of the cookie dough. Seal edges together by pressing and cupping in hand until mini Oreo Cookie is enclosed with dough. Place onto a parchment or silicone mat lined baking sheet and bake cookies 9-10 minutes or until lightly browned.

Happy baking!

